Elevator Pitch: Part I

For my project, I am researching the representation of LGBTQ+ Latinos in television shows or films. I will focus on 1-2 films or perhaps a few episodes of a television show that portrays how LGBTQ+ Latinos are represented in the media. I am going to make a website in order to demonstrate the microaggressions that these people face. I will use the films or television show to exemplify how the representation and rhetoric used in this form of media influences Americans’ perception of LGBTQ+ Latinos as well as how films/television shows are combatting these microagressions and stereotypes in ways that are noteworthy. The reason I decided to research this topic is because I realize that I know very little about this group and ultimately I want to be able to share the information with others. I want to be able to add to the conversations about Latinos and LGBTQ+ by focusing on how the two identities intersect and how they are represented in the media.

Leave a Reply

